camera

AND ONLY TO DECEIVE

Lady Emily Book #1

Emily's desire to learn more about her late husband takes her to the quiet corridors of the British Museum, where, amid priceless ancient statues, she uncovers a dark, dangerous secret involving stolen artifacts from the Greco-Roman galleries. To complicate matters, she's juggling two very prominent and wealthy suitors, one of whose intentions may go beyond the marrying kind. Her search to solve the crime leads to surprising discoveries about the man she married and causes her to question the role in Victorian society to which she, as a woman, is relegated.

"Elevates historical suspense genre...an admirable and literate debut novel..." --The Tennessean

"Alexander excels in depicting the social mores of a society uncomfortable with the independence of women, and deftly allows the plot to develop in tandem with Emily's growth." --The Baltimore Sun

"Fans of Anne Perry and Elizabeth Peters will welcome this debut novel." --The Denver Post

“...charming...Alexander makes Emily light but sympathetic, and conveys period flavor without being ponderous. Her knowledge of the ethical dilemmas posed by Victorian etiquette is considerable; sexual chemistry in particular is handled with exquisite delicacy. The archaeological back-ground will lure readers who like to dig for their clues.” --Publishers Weekly

"This engaging, witty mix of Victorian cozy and suspense thriller draws its dramatic spark from the endearingly headstrong heroine’s growth in life and love. A memorable debut." --Booklist

"Alexander’s expertly crafted first mystery is a subtly suspenseful tale with a wonderfully stubborn, clever protagonist, who finds her own way of quietly rebelling against traditional Victorian society in the late nineteenth century."--voya magazine

"Charming...Tasha Alexander makes Emily a studious and stubborn heroine. And the author's knowledge of the social conventions and etiquette of the Victorian period is impressive." --Dallas Morning News

"Tasha Alexander’s And Only to Deceive is a delightful debut novel by a talented author. The narrator is reminiscent of one of those strong female characters that enliven the novels of Trollope; the historical settings are handled deftly; the plot is intricate and captivating; all kinds of lore and learning are effortlessly conveyed. Above all, it is a good read. So let’s hear it for Tasha Alexander, one of the brightest new stars on the literary horizon." --Ralph McInerny, author of the Father Dowling mysteries

“Had Jane Austen written The Da Vinci Code, she may well have come up with this elegant novel.” --Martha O'Connor, author of The Bitch Posse

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK PEOPLE | IBOOKS | INDIEBOUND

© TASHA ALEXANDER 2017
All Rights Reserved